google analytics
Need a nanny

Parents,looking for a nanny or sitter

Looking for nanny
Nannies & Babysitter

Nannies & Sitters join for free

Free join nanny

Profile of 'Mariana' (#194669) – Bondi  All caregiver work

To contact 'Mariana' you will you need to join now or login

Last Logged in today
 

Mariana's Description

Dear Moms and Dads,
I am a Psychology student here in Sydney and my ultimate goal is to become a children's psychologist! I'm 34 years old, I have a post-graduate degree in Law, but it took me 15 years working with children to figure out that I wanted to pursue a new path. I am completely passionate about working with youngsters! Specially infants and toddlers. It is my true vocation in life. There's nothing else in the world that fulfills me more than making sure a child is happy, healthy and well taken care of. I've been a nanny for 14 years and also a Preschool English Teacher for 1 year. At this moment, I am looking for a full-time nanny job here in Sydney to continue my experience around children and also to help me pay for my tuition.

I am fluent in English and Portuguese and I can also understand and communicate well enough in Spanish. I love arts, crafts and outdoors. I am full of energy, I am very outgoing and cheerful, your children will never get bored around me! And I also could gladly do some housekeeping, cooking, even taking care of pets, in case you need me to. I'm just happy to help in any way I can!

My first job as a nanny was in 2003, while I was in Law School. I worked full-time (8 hours per day) for 6 years in an American-Brazilian family (in Brazil) taking care of a 6-months-old girl and 2-years-old boy. It was an incredible experience. It made me extremely fulfilled to be a part of their lives and to watch them grow throughout all these 6 years. They are a part of me and there's nothing I wouldn't do for them or for their parents, who treated me as if I was their own blood. My job was to supervise the children's activities at all times, to play outdoors and take the children to parks and other recreational centres (by foot, train or bus); dressing, bathing and reading books for them, helping them with homework and school activities and preparing meals and feeding them were part of my duties as well.

My second job as nanny was in 2009, a part-time (5 hours per day/ 5 days a week, occasional babysitting over the weekends) for 2 years in a Brazilian family, taking care of 3 children (3, 5 and 7 years old) after their morning school. It was a blast, we did so many fun activities together, we had so much fun together and I helped them overcome so many barriers in school, in their social life, etc. The love between us is so grand that up until this day the children still call me every other month, even living abroad. My job consisted in picking the children up from school (with the family's car), preparing the children's lunch, helping them with homework and school activities, encouraging them to be themselves and to recognize their own potential; we would also play a lot outside, perform different artistic activities and at the end of the day I would bathe and dress them for when their parents got home.

My third job as a nanny was in 2012, a full-time (8 hours per day/ 5 days a week, occasional babysitting over the weekends) for 3 years, for another Brazilian family, taking care of a 5-months-old baby girl. Newborns have a special part in my world. I have a particular kind of love for them. They are so vulnerable, so fragile, so unable to express what they are feeling that I give my everything to protect and care for them. In this particular job, I used to prepare her formula and feed her, put her to sleep, play with her and read for her, change her nappies, bathe and dress her, administrate medication whenever her parents instructed me to do so and I also did some light housekeeping to help out around the house.

In 2015 I decided to expand my working with children's experience and I became a Preschool English teacher in Brazil, working full-time with children ages 2 yo - 7 yo. I had over 160 students from all ages and personalities. It was a blast being around so many different children; they taught me more than I taught them, they made my days happier and more fulfilling. But after teaching for a whole year I felt that I wanted to do more for the children than just teaching, I wanted to be able to know what was going on in their little lives and how could I help them grow healthy emotionally, I truly wanted to take them in my arms and to make so all their problems disappear. That's when I went to the US to be away from everything, to clear my mind and to reconsider my next step for a career in life. And over there I did some more babysitting as well.

My first American Family was the Andrade/Falk family that also happened to be half Brazilian. They lived in Hawaii, but they moved shortly to Dallas for 12 months and then back to Hawaii again. I worked for them during 9 months whilst I was in Dallas. They had a 3-months-old girl and a 2-years-and-a-half-old boy. My work consisted mainly in creating a stimulating, playful and safe environment for the them, making meals and feeding them, bathing and dressing them. I also did some light housekeeping and fed their dog every day. I would engage in artistic and fun activities with them, read books and play films for them, play outdoors and take them to parks and other public venues (With the family's car). They were very energetic and demanded a lot of my closest attention. I am glad I was up for the challenge I succeeded at it!

My second family in America was actually 1/3 Peruvian, 1/3 Chinese and 1/3 Russian and their home was in Berlin, Germany! They were living in Boston while the dad (Yuri) did some academic work at MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology). They were a very special family. Amazing human beings, so concerned and worried about their baby son. I had a short, but beautiful experience with their family. They had been having difficulties in finding a nanny for their 3-months-old boy because the nannies didn't seem to be patient enough with the baby and they wanted someone who had extra patient, since boy seemed to cry a lot. I didn't have any problems with little Sasha at all, he was an angel when I was with him, it was 2 amazing months spending 8 hours per day with him. My chores included preparing his formula and feeding him, reading and singing for him (babies this age love different kinds of auditory and visual stimulation. I would also take him to the park across the street to watch the children play and to watch the summer shows held in the park during the months of July and August. I didn't bathe him, I only changed his nappies and his clothes.

Well, that's it! These are my experiences! I hope I gave you a little pick of my passion for children. I have excellent references and letters of recommendation that I will gladly provide once we meet.

Thank you for your time and I look forward to meeting your family and to being a part of your children's healthy development.







Mariana's Experience / Skills / Qualifications

Type of Caregiver: All caregiver work
Years Experience over 10
Police Check Available: Yes
First Aid Certification: Yes
Has a Driver's License: Yes
Education Level: College/University
Other Certifications: Advanced Child Care Training with Paediatric First Aid/CPR/AED, American Red Cross Boston, USA.

Type of Work

Ages of children Mariana is comfortable providing care for:
0 - 1 years
1 - 2 years
2 - 3 years
3 - 5 years
5 - 10 years
10+ years
Type of work Mariana is interested in:
Casual Babysitting
Part-time
Full-time
Overnight
Live In
Additional services Mariana may provide:
Care for Elderly
Care for Pets
Care for Disabled Children
Housekeeping

Mariana's Availability

I am interested in working 4 - 10 hours per day, and 5 - 7 days per week.
Monday:
Day After School Evening
Tuesday:
Day After School Evening
Wednesday:
Day After School Evening
Thursday:
Day After School Evening
Friday:
Day After School Evening
Saturday:
Day N/A Evening
Sunday:
Day N/A Evening

Mariana's Rates

Expected Hourly Rate: 25
Additional Fees/Details: 2 or more children + housekeeping = $30 per hour

Mariana's Additional Information

Do you have children? No
Do you have a Vehicle? No
Do you smoke? No
Willing to Travel? How Far? Yes          (How Far: 20kms)
Are references available? Yes
Preferred Situation: Live-Out
Citizenship: Visitor [Work Visa]
Registered carer with the Family Assistance Office: No
Country of Birth: Brazil
Other Languages: Portuguese, Spanish
Gender: Female
Marital Status: Single
Age: 34
City/Suburb: Bondi
State/Province: New South Wales
Allergies: None
Dietary Needs: None
Additional Information:

Mariana's Rating Details

Parent Submitted Ratings: None
To contact Mariana you'll need to Join Now or Login